Rheos’ internal team is working alongside a founding team of leading scientists whose discoveries opened the field of immunometabolism and clinicians with deep understanding of immune-mediated diseases. Their expertise spans the continuum of immune cell insights, from discovery of biological pathways, to defining mechanisms and targets, to identifying biomarkers for patient subsetting.

Erika Pearce, PhD, Max Planck Institute 
Erika Pearce, PhD
Max Planck Institute

Dr. Pearce is Senior Group Leader and Director at the Max-Planck-Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics in Freiburg, and Head of the Department of Immunometabolism. Her research focuses on understanding the cellular and molecular mechanisms that control immune responses, with a particular emphasis on how metabolism governs this process.

Prior to moving to the Max Planck she worked at the Trudeau Institute (NY) and was an Associate Professor in the Department of Pathology and Immunology at Washington University School of Medicine.

Edward Pearce, PhD, Max Planck Institute 
Edward Pearce, PhD
Max Planck Institute

Dr. Pearce is senior group leader at the Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics and a Professor in the Faculty of Biology at the University of Freiburg. His research interests include Type 2 immunity, and a more recent focus on the role of cellular metabolism in immune cell function and fate during infection and cancer. He is particularly interested in understanding the relationship between metabolic reprogramming and differential cell activation and in identifying ways to inhibit or promote metabolic pathways to manipulate immune responses.

Dr. Pearce obtained his PhD for research on immunity to helminth parasites that he performed at NIMR, Mill Hill, London. He pursued postdoctoral training with Alan Sher at the NIH, where he focused on understanding Type 2 bias in immune responses during a variety of types of infection. Earlier in his career, Dr. Pearce held faculty positions at Cornell University, University of Pennsylvania, Trudeau Institute, Washington University School of Medicine.

Laurence Turka, MD, Rheos Medicines 
Laurence Turka, MD
Rheos Medicines

Company co-founder, Laurence Turka, MD, joins Rheos as Chief Scientific Officer, following a 30-year academic career as a transplant immunologist, most recently as the Harold and Ellen Danser Professor of Surgery and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.  Among the notable discoveries of Larry’s laboratory were novel approaches to transplantation tolerance, the role of Toll-like receptors in T-cells, and pathways required for the maintenance of regulatory T-cell function.  Larry was also an early contributor to the field of T-cell costimulation and helped contribute to the development of abatacept and belatacept for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis and renal transplantation.

Larry received his MD degree from the Yale University School of Medicine, trained in Internal Medicine at Yale-New Haven Hospital and in Nephrology at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School.  He is a former Chief of the Renal Division at the University of Pennsylvania, President of the American Society of Transplantation, Chair of the NIAID Board of Scientific Counselors, and Editor in Chief of The Journal of Clinical Investigation.  He currently serves as Deputy Director of the Immune Tolerance Network and is a Professor of Surgery and Medicine (part-time) at Harvard Medical School.  He was elected to membership in the American Society for Clinical Investigation in 1995, and the Association of American Physicians in 2003.

Richard Flavell, PhD, Yale University, Howard Hughes Medical Institute 
Richard Flavell, PhD
Yale University, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Dr. Flavell is Sterling Professor of Immunobiology at Yale University School of Medicine, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. His research focuses on innate and adaptive immunity, T-cell tolerance and activation in immunity and autoimmunity, apoptosis, and regulation of T-cell differentiation.

He received his B.Sc. (Honors) and Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Hull, England, and performed postdoctoral work in Amsterdam with Piet Borst and in Zurich with Charles Weissmann. Dr. Flavell is a fellow of the Royal Society, a member of the National Academy of Sciences as well as the Institute of Medicine.

Ken Smith, MD, PhD, Cambridge University 
Ken Smith, MD, PhD
Cambridge University

Dr. Smith is Professsor Head of the Department of Medicine at the University of Cambridge and a consultant Nephrologist and Clinical Immunologist. He is also Deputy Director of the Division of Medicine at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, a Fellow of Pembroke College, and is the Khoo Oon Teik Professor of Nephrology, National University of Singapore. His research focuses on basic immunological mechanisms, and how defects in regulatory control of the immune system can lead to autoimmunity and alter defense against infection, and translational research in autoimmune disease which has led to the discovery of a novel prognosis-predicting biomarker now entering clinical trials, and the identification of genes involved in disease pathogenesis.

Ken studied medicine at the University of Melbourne, and completed a BMedSc in the Nuffield Department of Surgery in Oxford. He trained in nephrology with an interest in autoimmune disease at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, and then completed pathology training specializing in clinical immunology. His PhD (with David Tarlinton and Gus Nossal at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute) examined aspects of B cell immunology, work built upon in two years working with Douglas Fearon in Cambridge. He is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, and a winner of the Lister Institute Research Prize.

E. William St. Clair, MD, Duke University 
E. William St. Clair, MD
Duke University

Dr. St. Clair is W. Lester Brooks, Jr. Professor of Medicine, Chief of Division of Rheumatology and Immunology and Professor in Immunology at Duke University.  His research focuses on the pathogenesis and treatment of rheumatoid arthritis (RA) using patient-oriented research methodologies in collaboration with basic scientists and other clinical investigators.

Dr. St. Clair earned is MD at West Virginia University and was a medical resident at Duke University where he also completed a fellowship in Rheumatology and was Chief Resident.

Back to Top